Audio Books

LibriVox.org

Click to visit Librivox.org

I finally purchased a microSD card for my mobile phone the other day, then I set about loading it with stuff I would want to listen to whilst I’m on the bus etc. When I was truck driving I used to listen to a lot of audio books and used to thoroughly enjoy listening to the stories unfold through my working day. I also like getting the odd audio book from the library to have someone read to me before I go off to sleep at nights. I was always surfing the net for other options and quite a few years ago I discovered Librivox.org.

Librivox.org has a campaign to get all the books and short stories that are in the public domain, read and recorded by volunteers so that all this material is available to all. Their recordings are free to download and for the most part, are very good listening. I have used this site on and off for years.

So now I have several classic stories on my phone to listen to when I’m on the bus. I doubt very much if I would pick these up and read them, mainly because I often think they would not interest me but I am more than willing to give a classic book a listen.

In turn, this will affect the look of my Book Shelf page as I finish listening to the audio books, I will add them to the page as normal but I will add a small icon LibriVox.org beside them that states they are free audio books and if you click on the icon, it will take you to the preview and download page for that book at Librivox.org

You can also view the Librivox catalogue at the Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/details/audio_bookspoetry along with several other collections of audio books that are in the public domain.

At the Internet Archive, you will also find many other voice recording that are downloadable, one of my favourites is Old Time Radio http://www.archive.org/details/oldtimeradio where I listen to old Science Fiction radio plays.

1 Comment

  1. Indigo Spider

     /  February 9, 2012

    Oooh, this sounds fantastic! I have to check out LibriVox, thanks for the great info!

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

