Book Review: Anthem by Ayn Rand

Anthem by Ayn Rand

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed this novella, even though it was read to me rather than me reading the words on the page. From the first few sentences, I was caught up in this ‘sometime in the future’ world yet I get the feeling this was written looking at a political world of not so long ago. I’m not a political person, nor am I the sort of person that reads books because they ‘should’ be read. All I do is pick up a book that looks interesting, read it (or listen to it being read) and then make my own conclusions on it.

I could so easily have listened to much more detail though, it does lack ‘content’ other than the singular view of the lead character. I suspect that is part of the tale though, his view on what he sees and experiences and very little else. Yet I got enough detail to give quite a full picture of the awful world that he lives in and the relief of his escape and the finding of his ‘Brave New World’.

View all my reviews

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

