Myocardial Infarction

Where to start and what to say?
I guess the easiest way is to be honest with myself. I had a myocardial infarction (heart attack to you and me) last week.
My initial thoughts when I had the chest pains were “That’s not so good but hopefully this will pass”. It did for a while, then it came back. I then slept the night away but on awakening in the morning, something told me that I should go to hospital to get it checked out. Before I knew where I was, I was admitted into a cardiac care ward and there a scary week unfolded. It finished with me being discharged with a stent in my right coronary artery.
Now, one of the many reasons for me ending up in this position is the fact that I smoke tobacco! I know my diet could do with some improvements and my alcohol intake will have to be tempered but to have to stop something completely is hard! I have become the ratty monster from the nicotine deprivation office on a quiet rampage through my mind. EVERYTHING leads back to the desire for a cigarette!
One week on and I’m still fighting myself almost every waking moment.

Previous Post
Next Post

2 Comments

  1. Sorry to hear about the heart attack, Trev. Anything sudden to your body like that is scary, not to mention the pain. I quit smoking cold turkey almost 20 years ago and it was one of the hardest things I have ever done, but there were huge benefits.

    Food tasted better than I had ever remembered (you sort of have to watch overeating though). My dreams, which are important to me, became clearer and more enjoyable. I didn’t have to go outside in the freezing cold anymore just to pollute my lungs. And the biggest was I wasn’t wakened every night multiple times by searing, lung-tearing coughing fits. I also had less bronchial congestion and caught chest colds less often.

    Hang in there. It’s damned hard, but what an accomplishment. And if you should fall off the smoking wagon, don’t let it discourage you. Hop right back on. They say if you can weather it for a week, it becomes easier. And it does. After a time, I didn’t even crave cigarettes anymore.

    • Thanks for the support Sandra, I’m into my second week and nothing seems to be getting any easier but I’ll plug on with it for now

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

