‘Peak Oil’

Study of Peak Oil and Gas

Study of Peak Oil and Gas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I have plenty of time on my hands at the moment, I do my exercises, stay positive and in general, get on with things. Yesterday I was sat going through Netflix to see if there was anything I fancied watching and I came across the Documentary section. I do from time to time pick a documentary to watch, I like to be educated and stay on top of issues that I have an interest in. Anyway I’m flicking through the category when I come across a rather apocalyptic looking documentary called Collapse. The write up on Netflix is a little obscure so I plump for this and settle back to see where this will go and what, if anything, I will learn.

In this film we meet Michael Ruppert, he is the sole interviewee and we hear and see him talk about how we’ve reached Peak Oil and very soon the human race will disintegrate into a seething mass of violence and destruction, finally coming out the other side with a sustainable way of life, all because modern society relies on oil for just about everything from medicines to toothbrushes.

I then watched the next documentary that Netflix recommended after watching Collapse, this was called A Crude Awakening:The Oil Crash. This is an award winning documentary interviewing varied ‘experts’ on what they predict will happen when oil finally runs dry. Another very interesting film that I felt was more balanced that Collapse but still predicting a very similar outcome. It even looks into the possible replacements for oil with the conclusion that we will discover little that will ever replace oil.

In essence I understand what Mr Ruppert says and and quite happy to accept his vision will, in some way, come to pass. I have often thought to myself what the devil would we do without oil and his is one version of the possible futures to come for mankind. I then went on to do a little research about Peak Oil and found that Mr Ruppert is also a founder of Collapse Network which takes Mr Rupperts’ vision one step further and gives advice on how humanity should now be preparing itself for society to collapse in the not too distant future. All sensible information if mankind is on the brink of collapse even if it is portrayed in a rather scaremongering type of way.

This morning I’m in my usual routine of catching up with the news on the BBC website when I think of searching that site for Peak Oil news. Little of interest comes up apart from one feature called Shortages:Is ‘Peak Oil’ idea dead?  written by their environmental analyst, Roger Harrabin. His conclusions do not really differ from those above apart from one (in my view) quite vital point, if we carry on using oil and fossil fuels in general, climate change will increase to the point where we will cook ourselves long before oil and other fossil fuels reserves expire.

So I learned something! I will not be around to see the last oil pumped out of the ground but my children might. I am living through climate change as I type, my children will see climate change in all it’s glory because we are not really doing anything to change our use of fossil fuels, and there is in the long term little to replace it even if we could.

One day this planets resources will run out, not tomorrow but eventually. Humanity could still be around, if we don’t cook ourselves first, that society will be as unrecognisable to us as ours would be to a Victorian today.

As it has always been, the next generation will reap the rewards of it’s predecessor.

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose and poetry

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

