Vimto Wine

54480011_H

As well as beers, I’ve been attempting to brew some wines. To start with I bought a couple of kits, Elderflower and a Cherry kit. Both turned out pretty well but I would advise that you leave the wine to mature for at least two months instead of drinking once bottled as these kits often say the wine is ready to drink after 7 days!

I’ve also discovered C J J Berry‘s books, or at least two of them anyway, both are full of excellent recipes and ideas. The one I recently acquired gives recipes for tinned fruit and fruit juices etc; below is a recipe I’ve adapted to suit my tastes.

Vimto 8 fl oz
Sugar 2lb 10 oz
Tartaric acid 2g
Citric acid 2g
Yeast Nutrient 1g
High alcohol yield yeast 1g
Water to 1 gallon

(My apologies for mixing the way I weigh ingredients but I like to live dangerously πŸ˜‰ )

Dilute sugar in 2 pints of warm water, add acids and nutrient. Pour Vimto in demijohn and add sugared (and acid) water, fill to 1 gallon with cold water, add yeast and ferment.

I expect to follow usual guidelines as to bottling etc and I don’t expect this to be ready until at least summer of 2013.

Besides this I have a pomegranate wine which has now been fermenting for two months, I have apple, Haw berry and crab apple wine maturing in their respective demijohns. I also have another gallon of apple wine, this time with added cinnamon which will be ready for Xmas ’13. I also have a kit Rose wine which I hope will be ready for this Xmas, it is currently maturing nicely and will get bottled the week prior to Xmas.

Next Post
Comments are closed.
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

