Week 1 2016, Wool and Security

It has been so long that I’ve written anything for this blog that I almost forgot I had it! Anyway, I remembered my log in and password so here I am.
All I really do that is of interest these days is read! Sometimes two and up to three books a week! I am a member of a Facebook group that encourages reading and offers interesting and new books to read. The website is http://forreadingaddicts.co.uk/ and if you would like to join in our discussions, ask away and I will invite you. Everyone is welcome but please, if you are an author, no self publicity! We are a reading group but the website Admin offers chances to publicise your work. I can put you in touch with the website Admin if you need publicity.
So, on to what I am reading, or more accurately, what I have just read.
Wool by Hugh Howey https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18626815-wool-omnibus-edition
I understand that this is a collection rather than one novel but the hype woolseems to have run away with the actual story and writing. Not that the writing was bad, in fact for a self published author it is very good. I just felt overall that something was missing from the story. I wish I knew what it was that was missing because the premise is very good and I’m sure the following books are very good too. I just felt that from reading this book I could not justify to myself reading the others. I have so many books I want to read that I already own that sometimes I cannot justify carrying on with a series when I am getting it from the library.
I gave it 3 from 5 stars on Goodreads, which is nether good or bad.
Next up was a short story by Poul Anderson called Security. A short SciFi story. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19391653-security
And a fine short it is too. You could easily read it within the hour but it grabs you right from the start, as a good short should. Considering this is probably less than 50 pages it seems full of detail and the story fairly runs along. A great filler on your journey or hanging around, waiting for something to happen. I gave it a 3 from 5 but it is probably nearer 3.5. A good short read!
Over the coming seven days I am reading The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11506026-the-handmaid-s-tale and plan on reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20555501-the-book-thief
I would love to know your reading plans

Trevor
04/01/2016

Previous Post

3 Comments

  1. Hey Trevor! Nice to you back again! It’s sure been a while! I read the Wool omnibus and came away with the same feeling. The first book, or installment, however you choose to name it was okay, a decent idea and somewhat eerie too, though the story seemed to wither a little the longer it continued. I felt there was something lacking, but also couldn’t put my finger on what that was. I read somewhere a few months ago that someone is looking to make a film of the first book.

    • Hi Dave, Yes it has been a long time. I do plan to write weekly but as we all know, life has it’s ways of taking over sometimes.
      A film of Wool might be interesting, to see someone else’s thoughts might bring the book alive. Shame really because the premise of the book is a really good idea.

  1. 3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge | Dave Farmer
NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

Stories In Your Pocket

"Not that a story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short." Henry David Thoreau

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

