Three Quotes, Three Days Challenge

Three Days, Three Quotes

My blogging buddy, Dave Farmer has kindly nominated me to continue this little challenge. The idea is that you post three of your favourite quotes over three days. Fine, I can certainly find the three quotes but three days, no. I blog once a week, on a Monday.

So, to allow myself to step up to the challenge I will forgo what had started a couple of weeks ago, my rather dull book reviews, and write this instead.

“A generation which ignores history has no past — and no future.”
Robert A. Heinlein, Time Enough for Love

I just love Heinlein and read this book in my late teens. This little line just jumped out at me even though it is quite a thick and heavy read.

“Civilisation is the distance that man has placed between himself and his own excreta.”
Brian W. Aldiss, The Dark Light Years

Another favourite author and for me this line just says it all! I’m not sure if that is a good or a bad thing though.

“Once upon a time there was what there was, and if nothing had happened there would be nothing to tell.”
Charles de Lint, Dreams Underfoot

Finally, a recent discovery for me, Charles de Lint has a way with words and a way of thinking that just appeals to me.

So, the rules if you wish to step up to this challenge are quite simple;

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post one fresh quotation on three consecutive days.
  3. On each of the three days, nominate three folk who have not yet taken part to continue the challenge.

As I said earlier, I am doing the one post with three quotes but you can do it over three days if you so desire. All I need do now is nominate three unfortunates. They are:

Books Bird

Beyond The Sphere

Once

1 Comment

  1. As a race we sure do like to admire our own achievements as being somehow better than any other animal on this planet. You don’t see other creatures thinking they’re better than their own waste. We’re the only species who don’t know how to live in harmony with their surroundings.

NORMAL FOR NORFOLK

Norfolk Cat Herding Champion 1983

'Appy Days !

The Mick Box Blog

Sarah Potter Writes

Pursued by the Muses of prose, poetry, and music.

Jim Webster

Books and Stuff

Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

This is my world, my wintry madness. I hope the snowflakes leave a trail of lingering warmth as they slip off your skin...

Books Bird

Everything a bookworm needs

So Many Books

the agony and ecstasy of a reading life

Random Ramblings.....

Some things that may or may not be of interest....

Norfolk Libraries Book News & Reviews

Reviews from our Customers & Staff

Once

Once written; a kind of testament in sonnets...

The Danforth Anchor

Just another WordPress.com site

Dave Farmer

Science Fiction & What-If Author

LEANNE RICHARDS

Writer. Coffee lover. Wine drinker and eternal optimist.

Henrietta Maddox Webloner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Into the Sun

My journey into authorhood!

● Poems 'n Stuff ●

... / My Slant on Life /...

Beyond the Sphere

By Tom Merriman

